AnkerPredicting Effectiveness of Drugs by Analyzing Molecular-Based Biomarkers

The genetic material of a tumor can reveal potential opportunites which predict that a treatment is more likely to work. But there are more molecular-based biomarkers that have been associated with treatment outcomes. They can be tested to give the physician the predictive information needed to make a treatment decision. Molecular-based biomarkers in cancer can be alterations in the genetic code, differences in gene expression or changes in protein expression. No single technology can offer all of the necessary answers. Thus using a multiplatform approach based on relevant, clinically proven molecular-based biomarkers which associate well with the treatment, makes the most sense.

After careful consideration we decided to collaborate with Paradigm Diagnostics, Inc. This company offers such analysis and interpretation of data. The service is called PCDx™ (Paradigm Cancer Diagnostic).

PCDx™ (Paradigm Cancer Diagnostic) Logo

  • The unique feature of PCDx™ is the entire service as a whole. Multiple tumor profiling technologies – including Immunohistochemistry (IHC) and Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) – are used in order to detect and analyze molecular-based biomarkers. Via PCDx™ the most clinically actionable genomic alterations in cancer including mutations, fusions, copy number variations, mRNA expression and protein expression are analyzed. An analysis of mRNA expression is currently only offered by Paradigm. Coupled with an exhaustive review of literature correlating molecular-based biomarkers to drug responses, PCDx™ provides the information oncologists need in order to personalize cancer treatment based on the biology of their patient’s tumor.

  • The laboratory of Paradigm Diagnostics is CLIA-certified.

  • The results of PCDx™ are available after 4-5 business days. This is significantly faster than other comparable biomarker analyses.

  • With a depth of coverage of >5000x PCDx™ provides an enormous level of accuracy.

  • PCDx™ can also be performed with a very small amount of patient material.

  • Clinical relevance of PCDx™: patients who were treated according to PCDx™ results showed an increasement of the progression free survival interval by 43%.



The databases, which are used for PCDx™, are updated continuously. There also is a continuous verification, which genetic data or other molecular-based biomarker data can have a therapeutic relevance for cancer patients. The conducted analyses are constantly extended over time. Currently there are 137 oncogenes, which are analyzed by next-generation sequencing and up to 24 proteins which are analyzed by IHC. The results of the molecular-based biomarker analysis are currently associated with the efficacy of 83 cancer drugs and 12 drug combinations.

The analyzed molecular-based Biomarkers

A comprehensive list of analyzed molecular-based biomarkers as well as testable associated cancer drugs you can find here:

Possible Prediction of Effectiveness for the following Drugs

The therapeutic alternatives, which can result out of the genes, include 83 approved drugs, 12 approved drug combinations and drugs, which are available in the context of clinical development. These drugs are chemotherapeutics as well as targeted drugs inlcuding anti-hormone-drugs and immunotherapies.

The drugs which appear on the final report will vary from tumor type to tumor type, and are always changing. Therefore the following lists give only an orientation.

   

Approved drugs, for which the effectiveness is interpreted:

Abiraterone, Ado-trastuzumab emtansine, Afatinib, Alectinib, Anastrozole, Atezolizumab, Avelumab, Bevacizumab, Bicalutamide, Brigatinib, Cabozantinib, Capecitabine, Carboplatin, Carmustine, Ceritinib, Cetuximab, Cisplatin, Crizotinib, Dabrafenib, Dasatinib, Dinutuximab, Docetaxel, Doxorubicin, Durvalumab, Enzalutamide, Epirubicin, Eribulin, Erlotinib, Everolimus, Exemestane, Fluorouracil, Flutamide, Fulvestrant, Gefitinib, Gemcitabine, Idelalisib, Imatinib, Interleukin-2, Ipilimumab, Irinotecan, Lanpreotide, Lapatinib, Letrozole, liposomal-Doxorubicin, Medroxyprogesterone, Methotrexate, Mitomycin, Mitotane, Neratinib, Nilotinib, Niraparib, Nivolumab, Octreotide, Olaparib, Osimertinib, Oxaliplatin, Paclitaxel, Palbociclib, Panitumumab, Pazopanib, Pembrolizumab, Pemetrexed, Pertuzumab, Procarbazine, Regorafenib, Ribociclip, Rucaparib, Sonidegib, Sorafenib, Streptozocin, Sunitinib, Tamoxifen, Temozolomide, Temsirolimus, Topotecan, Toremifene, Trabectedin, Trametinib, Trastuzumab, Vemurafenib, Vendetanib, Vinorelbine, Vismodegib

   

Drugs in clinical development, for which the effectiveness is interpreted:

AKT inhibitors
angiogenesis inhibitors
BRAF inhibitors
cMET inhibitors
IGF pathway inhibitors
MEK inhibitors
mTOR inhibitors
PIK3CA inhibitors

   


Paradigm Cancer Diagnostic can be ordered in two variants.

  • PCDx™ with all above mentioned analyses

  • Next-Generation Sequencing Analysis (NGS) only, in which only the gene profiling analyses without further biomarker analyses are done


Documents for

  • ordering the service

  • general information

  • information about the test result

  • test result - example

can be found on the download section on our website:

In addition it is worth checking the product website of our collaboration partner:


Just call us:

Monday to Thursday from 9:00 - 16:00
and Friday from 9:00 - 15:00

Our phone number:
+49 6221-8936-157

Send us a message:

We will get back to you as soon as possible.
Your TherapySelect Team


Our Awards

Award for innovative research
Award from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Germany
Award from the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy of Germany
Award from the European Union

Wirksamkeitsvorhersage für Medikamente mit Hilfe von molekularen Biomarkern

Das Ergut des Tumors - also das genetische Material in den Tumorzellen - kann unter Umständen Informationen liefern, die es ermöglichen eine Aussage über die Wirkung einer Behandlung zu treffen. Aber es gibt noch weitere molekulare Biomarker, die mit der Wirksamkeit von Therapieansprechen assoziiert sind. Diese können getestet werden, um dem Arzt prädiktive Informationen für eine Therapieentscheidung zu geben. Molekulare Biomarker bei Krebs können Veränderungen im genetischen Code, Unterschiede in der Genexpression oder Veränderungen in der Proteinexpression sein. Keine einzelne Technologie kann alle benötigten Antworten liefern. Daher ist es am sinnvollsten verschiedene diagnostische Methoden (Multiplattform-Ansatz) zu verwenden, die sich auf relevante, klinisch erprobte molekulare Biomarker konzentrieren, die entsprechend gut mit der Behandlung assoziieren.

Wir haben uns nach sorgfältiger Überlegung für die Zusammenarbeit mit Paradigm Diagnostics, Inc. entschieden, die so eine Art der Datenanalyse und -interpretation anbieten. Der Service heißt  PCDx™ (Paradigm Cancer Diagnostic).

PCDx™ (Paradigm Cancer Diagnostic) Logo

  • Das Besondere des PCDx™ liegt in dem Gesamtservice. Es werden verschiedene Technologien zur Tumoruntersuchung (Profilierung) verwendet, um molekulare Biomarker zu detektieren und zu analysieren. Zu den Technologien gehören Immunhistochemie (IHC) und Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS). Durch PCDx™ werden die klinisch relevantesten genomischen Veränderungen bei Krebs wie Mutationen, Veränderungen der Kopienzahl, Fusionen, mRNA Expression und Proteinexpression analysiert. Eine Analyse der mRNA Expression wird bisher nur von Paradigm angeboten. Zusammen mit einer sehr umfassenden Auswertung der aktuellen Literatur, die die Assoziationen von molekularen Biomarkern mit Medikamentenwirkungen behandelt, stellt der PCDx™ Service den Onkologen die Informationen zur Verfügung, die für die personalisierte Krebsbehandlung benötigt werden.

  • Das Labor von Paradigm Diagnostics ist CLIA-zertifiziert.

  • Nach 4-5 Werktagen liegt das Ergebnis von PCDx™ vor. Dies ist deutlich schneller als bei vergleichbaren Biomarker-Analysen.

  • Durch eine Abdeckungstiefe von >5000x wird eine enorme Präzision gewährleistet.

  • PCDx™ ist auch mit einer sehr geringen Menge an Patientenmaterial zuverlässig durchführbar.

  • Klinische Relevanz des PCDx™: bei Patienten, die entsprechend den Ergebnissen des PCDx™ behandelt wurden, war die Zeitspanne des progressionsfreien Überlebens um 43% erhöht.


Die Datenbanken, die für die Interpretation des PCDx™ notwendig sind, werden laufend aktualisiert. Ebenso wird kontinuierlich überprüft, welche Erbgut- oder anderen molekularen Biomarkerdaten eine therapeutische Relevanz für Krebspatienten haben können. Die entsprechenden Analysen werden dementsprechend laufend erweitert. Zurzeit werden 137 krebsrelevante Gene im Genom durch Next-Generation Sequencing und bis zu 24 Proteine durch Immunhistochemie untersucht. Die Ergebnisse der molekularen Biomarker-Analyse werden zurzeit mit der Wirkung von 83 Krebsmedikamenten und 12 Medikamentenkombinationen assoziiert.
 

Die analysierten molekularen Biomarker

Eine umfassende Liste der analysierten molekularen Biomarker sowie der testbaren assoziierten Krebsmedikamente finden Sie hier:

Mögliche Aussagen über die Wirksamkeit für folgende Medikamente

Die therapeutischen Alternativen, die sich daraus ergeben, beinhalten über 83 zugelassene Medikamente, 12 zugelassene Medikamentenkombinationen und Medikamente, die im Rahmen der klinischen Entwicklung erhältlich sind. Bei diesen Medikamenten handelt es sich um Chemotherapeutika sowie zielgerichtetete Medikamente inklusive Anti-Hormon-Medikamente und Immuntherapien.

Die Medikamente, welche auf dem Resultatbericht erscheinen, variieren von Tumortyp zu Tumortyp und verändern sich laufend. Die folgenden Listen geben daher lediglich einen Anhaltspunkt.

Zugelassene Medikamente, deren Wirksamkeiten interpretiert werden, sind unter Umständen:

Abirateron, Ado-Trastuzumab Emtansin, Afatinib, Alectinib, Anastrozol, Atezolizumab, Avelumab, Bevacizumab, Bicalutamid, Brigatinib, Cabozantinib, Capecitabin, Carboplatin, Carmustin, Ceritinib, Cetuximab, Cisplatin, Crizotinib, Dabrafenib, Dasatinib, Dinutuximab, Docetaxel, Doxorubicin, Durvalumab, Enzalutamid, Epirubicin, Eribulin, Erlotinib, Everolimus, Exemestan, Fluorouracil, Flutamid, Fulvestrant, Gefitinib, Gemcitabin, Idelalisib, Imatinib, Interleukin-2, Ipilimumab, Irinotecan, Lanpreotid, Lapatinib, Letrozol, liposomal-Doxorubicin, Medroxyprogesteron, Methotrexat, Mitomycin, Mitotan, Neratinib, Nilotinib, Niraparib, Nivolumab, Octreotid, Olaparib, Osimertinib, Oxaliplatin, Paclitaxel, Palbociclib, Panitumumab, Pazopanib, Pembrolizumab, Pemetrexed, Pertuzumab, Procarbazin, Regorafenib, Ribociclip, Rucaparib, Sonidegib, Sorafenib, Streptozocin, Sunitinib, Tamoxifen, Temozolomid, Temsirolimus, Topotecan, Toremifen, Trabectedin, Trametinib, Trastuzumab, Vemurafenib, Vendetanib, Vinorelbin, Vismodegib

Medikamente in klinischer Entwicklung, deren Wirksamkeiten interpretiert werden, sind unter Umständen:

AKT Inhibitoren
Angiogenese Inhibitoren
BRAF Inhibitoren
cMET Inhibitoren
IGF Signalweg Inhibitoren
MEK Inhibitoren
mTOR Inhibitoren
PIK3CA Inhibitoren


Paradigm Cancer Diagnostic lässt sich in zwei Varianten durchführen:

  • PCDx™ mit allen oben genannten Analysen

  • Next-Generation Sequencing Analysis (NGS) only, wobei lediglich die Genprofil-Analysen ohne die weiteren molekularen Biomarker-Analysen durchgeführt werden


Dokumente für

  • die Bestellung

  • allgemeine Informationen

  • Informationen zum Testresultat

  • Testresulat - Beispiel

finden Sie im Downloadbereich dieser Website:

Zusätzlich lohnt sich ein Blick auf die Produktseite unseres Kooperationspartners:


Rufen Sie uns an:

Montag bis Donnerstag von 9 - 16 Uhr
und Freitag von 9 - 15 Uhr

unter Telefon:
(+49) 06221-8936-157

Schreiben Sie uns:

Wir melden uns so schnell wie möglich zurück.
Ihr TherapySelect Team


Unsere Auszeichnungen

Auszeichnung für innovative Forschung
Auszeichnung vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
Auszeichnung vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)
Auszeichung von der Europäischen Union (EU)